Back to Top


The country lies in the Carpathian Basin, covering an area of 93.000 square kilometres. It has a population of about 10 million people. It borders seven countries: Austria in the West, Slovakia in the North, Ukraine in the Northeast, Romania in the East, Serbia and Croatia in the South, and Slovenia in the Southwest. Two main rivers, the Danube (Duna) and the Tisza divide the country into three geographical areas: Dunántúl, Duna-Tisza köze, and Tiszántúl.

Almost 70% of the country is under cultivation and only 14% remains forested. Most of the forests are beech and oak, and a small percentage fir. Animals to be found here include deer, boar, wild hare, otter and many kinds of birds, especially waterfowl.

There are ten national parks in Hungary. The biggest one is Hortobágy National Park (part of UNESCO’s World Heritage), the area often called ‘puszta’. The other major national parks are: Kiskunság, Bükk, Aggtelek, Fertő-Hanság, Duna-Dráva, and Körös-Maros National Parks.