Back to Top


Hungary's form of government is parliamentary democracy. The country has a multiparty system and the legal framework for the formation of a wide range of political parties.

The head of state, currently President Jánod ÁDER, was elected for a five-year term in 2012. The head of government is Prime Minister Viktor ORBÁN.

The country has a unicameral National Assembly (Országgyûlés) with 199 seats. MPs are elected by popular vote under a system of proportional and direct representation to serve four-year terms. The main political parties are (in order of parliamentary representation):